September 13, 1976 – Hard Rain is a live album released by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan


Hard Rain is a live album by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, released on September 13, 1976 by Columbia Records. The album was recorded during the second leg of the Rolling Thunder Revue.

The album was partly recorded on May 23, 1976, during a concert at Hughes Stadium in Fort Collins, Colorado; the penultimate show of the tour, the concert was also filmed and later broadcast by NBC as a one-hour television special in September. (Hard Rain’s release coincided with this broadcast). Four tracks from the album (“I Threw It All Away,” “Stuck inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again,” “Oh, Sister,” and “Lay, Lady, Lay”) were recorded on May 16, 1976 in Fort Worth, Texas.[4] Neither the album nor the television special was well received.

“Although the band has been playing together longer, the charm has gone out of their exchanges,” writes music critic Tim Riley. “Hard Rain…seemed to come at a time when the Rolling Thunder Revue, so joyful and electrifying in its first performances, had just plain run out of steam,” wrote Janet Maslin, then a music critic for Rolling Stone. In his mixed review for Hard Rain, Robert Christgau criticized the Rolling Thunder Revue as “folkies whose idea of rock and roll is rock and roll clichés.”



Bob Dylan – Rolling Thunder Revue -Full Concert


Shelter from the Storm


Track listing

All songs by Bob Dylan, except where noted.

Side one
  1. Maggie’s Farm” – 5:23
  2. One Too Many Mornings” – 3:47
  3. Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again” – 6:01
  4. Oh, Sister” (Dylan, Jacques Levy) – 5:08
  5. Lay Lady Lay” – 4:47
Side two
  1. Shelter from the Storm” – 5:29
  2. You’re a Big Girl Now” – 7:01
  3. I Threw It All Away” – 3:18
  4. Idiot Wind” – 10:21

One Comment

Leave a Reply
  1. Hard Rain is exceptionally fine. Along with Street Legal, this live album is one of Dylan’s most underrated. Raw, ragged and impassioned, Dylan out-punks the punks with better songs and chops. “Maggie’s Farm,” “Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again,” and “Idiot Wind” are highlights in a set that has aged well. Don’t you dare miss it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.