March 22, 1982 – Iron Maiden released the album “The Number of the Beast”

The Number of the Beast

“The Number of the Beast” was Iron Maiden’s first release to feature vocalist Bruce Dickinson, their last with drummer Clive Burr, as well as their only album to include songwriting credits from Burr, and was the band’s first album to feature writing by guitarist Adrian Smith. In addition, the release saw Steve Harris adopt a different approach to writing, which would cater more for new vocalist Bruce Dickinson. The album’s producer Martin Birch remarked, “I simply didn’t think [former vocalist Paul Di’Anno] was capable of handling lead vocals on some of the quite complicated directions I knew Steve wanted to explore … When Bruce joined, it opened up the possibilities for the new album tremendously.”

TRACKLIST:1) Invaders2) Children of the Damned3) The Prisoner4) 22 Acacia Avenue5) The Number of the Beast6) Run to the Hills7) Gangland8) Hallowed Be Thy Name

One Comment

Leave a Reply

    One Ping

    1. Pingback:

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.