March 11, 1992 – Eric Clapton’s “Unplugged” session for MTV was broadcast for the first time.

March 11, 1992 - Eric Clapton

Recorded on January 16th at Bray Studios near Windsor, England in front of an audience of 300 fans, it became the series’ highest rated show. It proved to be so popular that a “Part 2” featuring a few songs not included in the original broadcast was put together for broadcast in June. The resulting live album, released in August, became the biggest selling album of Eric’s career.The premise of “MTV Unplugged” was simple: musicians associated with amplified music would “unplug” from their amps and effects and go acoustic performing stripped down and sometimes radically reworked songs. By the time MTV approached Eric Clapton, Paul McCartney, Don Henley, Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Allman Brothers Band, Sting, Elvis Costello and others had been featured. With Eric’s episode, the show would have its finest moment. The music was minimalist, alternating between his pop songs and the traditional blues that influenced him as a youth. Eric would also debut five new songs, all penned in the months following the tragic death of his young son, Conor.

1) Signe
2) Before You Accuse Me
3) Hey Hey
4) Tears In Heaven (not broadcast/unissued)
5) Circus Left Town (TV broadcast only/unissued)
6) Lonely Stranger
7) Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
8) Layla
9) Signe – Take 2 (not broadcast/unissued)
10) My Father’s Eyes (not broadcast/unissued)
11) Running On Faith
12) Walking Blues (not broadcast/unissued)
13) Alberta
14) San Francisco Bay Blues (not broadcast/unissued)
15) Malted Milk (not broadcast/unissued)
16) Signe – Take 3 (not broadcast/unissued)
17) Tears In Heaven – Take 2
18) My Father’s Eyes – Take 2 (not broadcast/unissued)
19) Rollin’ And Tumblin’
20) Running On Faith – Take 2 (not broadcast/unissued)
21) Walking Blues – Take 2
22) San Francisco Bay Blues – Take 2
23) Malted Milk – Take 2
24) Worried Life Blues (not broadcast/unissued)
25) Old Love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.